Most Anticipated 2015 Debuts | Top Ten Tuesday [2]

Top Ten Tuesday is a book meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Topics are picked each week and people share their lists with one another. To find out more and join in click here. Now onto this weeks list. Not going to lie, I hardly knew any 2015 debuts until I did a bit of research via Goodreads! I've got a mix of adult and young adult releases, but couldn't reach a list of ten, so I just cut it down to my top adult debut and top five YA debuts. Click on the book covers for their Goodreads pages.

Most Anticipated 2015 Debuts

(in no particular order)

The Travels of Daniel Ascher - Deborah Levy-Bertherat
A sensation in France, this is a story about literary deceptions, family secrets, and a thrilling quest for the truth Who is the real author of The Black Insignia? Is it H. R. Sanders, whose name is printed on the cover of every installment of the wildly successful young adult adventure series? Or is it Daniel Roche, the enigmatic world traveler who disappears for months at a time? When Daniel’s great-niece, Hélène, moves to Paris to study archeology, she does not expect to be searching for answers to these questions. As rumors circulate, however, that the twenty-fourth volume of The Black Insignia series will be the last, Hélène and her friend Guillaume, a devoted fan of her great-uncle’s books, set out to discover more about the man whose life eludes her. In so doing, she uncovers an explosive secret dating back to the darkest days of the Occupation. In recounting the moment when one history began and another ended, The Travels of Daniel Ascher explores the true nature of fiction: is it a refuge, a lie, or a stand-in for mourning?

Under a Painted Sky - Stacey Lee
A powerful story of friendship and sacrifice, for fans of Code Name Verity Missouri, 1849: Samantha dreams of moving back to New York to be a professional musician—not an easy thing if you’re a girl, and harder still if you’re Chinese. But a tragic accident dashes any hopes of fulfilling her dream, and instead, leaves her fearing for her life. With the help of a runaway slave named Annamae, Samantha flees town for the unknown frontier. But life on the Oregon Trail is unsafe for two girls, so they disguise themselves as Sammy and Andy, two boys headed for the California gold rush. Sammy and Andy forge a powerful bond as they each search for a link to their past, and struggle to avoid any unwanted attention. But when they cross paths with a band of cowboys, the light-hearted troupe turn out to be unexpected allies. With the law closing in on them and new setbacks coming each day, the girls quickly learn that there are not many places to hide on the open trail. This beautifully written debut is an exciting adventure and heart-wrenching survival tale. But above all else, it’s a story about perseverance and trust that will restore your faith in the power of friendship.

The Girl at Midnight - Melissa Grey
For readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war. Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known. Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she's fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it's time to act. Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it's how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it. But some jobs aren't as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

Shutter - Courtney Alameday
Horror has a new name: introducing Courtney Alameda. Micheline Helsing is a tetrachromat—a girl who sees the auras of the undead in a prismatic spectrum. As one of the last descendants of the Van Helsing lineage, she has trained since childhood to destroy monsters both corporeal and spiritual: the corporeal undead go down by the bullet, the spiritual undead by the lens. With an analog SLR camera as her best weapon, Micheline exorcises ghosts by capturing their spiritual energy on film. She's aided by her crew: Oliver, a techno-whiz and the boy who developed her camera's technology; Jude, who can predict death; and Ryder, the boy Micheline has known and loved forever. When a routine ghost hunt goes awry, Micheline and the boys are infected with a curse known as a soulchain. As the ghostly chains spread through their bodies, Micheline learns that if she doesn't exorcise her entity in seven days or less, she and her friends will die. Now pursued as a renegade agent by her monster-hunting father, Leonard Helsing, she must track and destroy an entity more powerful than anything she's faced before . . . or die trying. Lock, stock, and lens, she’s in for one hell of a week..

The Edge of Forever - Melissa E. Hurst
In 2013: Sixteen-year-old Alora is having blackouts. Each time she wakes up in a different place with no idea of how she got there. The one thing she is certain of? Someone is following her. In 2146: Seventeen-year-old Bridger is one of a small number of people born with the ability to travel to the past. While on a routine school time trip, he sees the last person he expected—his dead father. The strangest part is that, according to the Department of Temporal Affairs, his father was never assigned to be in that time. Bridger’s even more stunned when he learns that his by-the-book father was there to break the most important rule of time travel—to prevent someone’s murder. And that someone is named Alora. Determined to discover why his father wanted to help a “ghost,” Bridger illegally shifts to 2013 and, along with Alora, races to solve the mystery surrounding her past and her connection to his father before the DTA finds him. If he can stop Alora’s death without altering the timeline, maybe he can save his father too?

Red Queen - Victoria Aveyard
The poverty stricken Reds are commoners, living under the rule of the Silvers, elite warriors with god-like powers. To Mare Barrow, a 17-year-old Red girl from The Stilts, it looks like nothing will ever change. Mare finds herself working in the Silver Palace, at the centre of those she hates the most. She quickly discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy Silver control. But power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?
What are your most anticipated debuts for 2015? Let me know in the comments!


  1. ohHH!! I want to read Shutter so bad!! And I read Red Queen and it was quite good...gorgeous cover, right?!! I'm super excited for so many books this year!

    Here's my TTT!

  2. The cover alone for Shutter is going to give me nightmares! Seriously creepy! I'm really looking forward to Red Queen! Great list!

  3. I have both Red Queen and The Girl at Midnight! Really excited for these :D

    Eileen @ BookCatPin

  4. Hi Shanny! <3 your blog :)

    I've never heard of The Travels of Daniel Ascher until now. It sounds...AMAZING. I'm assuming this is a book in translation (since it was a bestseller in France). LOVE international settings (I'm from the U.S.)

    And I'm also excited to read all of the other books on your list....especially Under The Painted Sky. A powerful story of friendship?!?! GIVE ME NOW! & it's historical fiction, which is my favorite genre after Fantasy.

  5. I know! Love a good eye-catching cover. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Shutter sounds sooooo good, and yeah the Red Queen cover is super cool! Same here, great releases coming in 2015 (:

  7. Thanks so much! I know, I hope it is, I would love to read a translated novel. Historical fiction and fantasy are my two favourite genres as well! Hahaha must add you on Goodreads (:

  8. I am SO EXCITED for The Red Queen, my most anticipated debut by far!!! I really love the cover to Under a Painted Sky, so pretty. I'm trying to read more historical fiction too, so this sounds perfect! Great choices this week! Happy reading! :)

  9. Shutter looks terrifying, but I may just have to dare myself to read it. With the lights on...I'm a horror novel wimp. :)

  10. Thank you! And same here, can't wait for it to come out (:

  11. I know it sounds so freaky, let's hope it's a good one (:

  12. A lot of these are new to me! I recognise the covers of a couple. Red Queen is the only book here that I really want to read (and I have an ARC!) I hope you get the chance to read them soon!

  13. Lucky you! Excited to hear what you think of it (: